CSRD reminds residents of fireworks bylaws

CSRD fireworks bylaw applies to Malakwa and Swansea Point.

  • Wed Oct 17th, 2012 11:00am
  • News

The Columbia Shuswap Regional District wants to remind its residents that setting off firecrackers or fireworks for personal use in most rural Shuswap areas is against local bylaws.

Fireworks regulations apply in Electoral Area ‘C’ (South Shuswap); Area ‘E’, (rural Sicamous including Malakwa and Swansea Point) and Area ‘F’ (North Shuswap and Seymour Arm) and prohibit the purchase and sale of fireworks in these areas. The discharge of fireworks without a permit is also prohibited.

Fines for violations of the fireworks regulations range from $200 to $300 per incident and regulations apply to private property as well as any BC parks or Crown land.


Community groups planning a public fireworks display may apply for a fireworks permit in advance from the CSRD. For more information, call the CSRD office at 250-832-8194.