Four running for mayor, 12 for council

Sicamous residents will have four mayoral candidates and 12 candidates for council to choose from.

Sicamous residents will have their work cut out for them this municipal election with four mayoral candidates and 12 candidates for council to choose from.

As of the 4 p.m. Friday nomination deadline, the following had filed their nomination papers for council: Fred Busch (incumbent), Charlotte Hutchinson (incumbent), Bruce Krahn, Kevin Kruger, Greg Kyllo, Lynn Miller (incumbent), Don Richardson (incumbent), Terry Rysz, Jerry Silva (incumbent), Terry Sinton, Diana Stooshnov and Joan Thomson. The only incumbent councillor not seeking re-election is Heidi Dewit.

Running for mayor is Malcolm MacLeod (incumbent), Lorraine March, Sheldon Ready and Darrell Trouton.

Prior to the Nov. 19 election, there are two all-candidates forums planned. The Sicamous Chamber of Commerce will host the first all-candidates forum on Thursday, Oct. 27, 7 p.m. at the Seniors Centre. A second all-candidates forum will take place at the Seniors Centre on Wednesday, Nov. 2 from 1 to 3 p.m. This forum will be geared towards Sicamous seniors.

In the election for the Columbia Shuswap Regional District, it’s no contest for Rhona Martin, who will be acclaimed as director for Sicamous-Malakwa Area E. There is a race, however, to replace retiring North Okanagan School District #83 Sicamous-Malakwa trustee Teresa Hebert. In the running are Barry Chafe and Sharon Gibb.

UPDATE: Bruce Krahn is no longer in the running for council.